Image Alt

US Commission

US Semiquincentennial Commission Established by Congress

USA250's leaders proudly supported the bipartisan team of sponsors in Congress who secured unanimous support to establish the United States Semiquincentennial Commission.

Ten years before the nation’s 250th anniversary in July 2026, both chambers of Congress unanimously passed the United States Semiquincentennial Commission Act of 2016. The bill was signed as Public Law 114-196 on July 22, 2016. USA250 congratulates the new Commissioners and thanks the bipartisan team of legislators who introduced and championed the bill and its passage into law. The 33-member body is comprised of 8 Members of Congress, 16 private citizens, and 9 federal officials. All Commissioners and the Chairperson have been appointed. The American Battlefield Trust ( has been appointed as Administrative Secretariat for the Commission.

United States Senate

Hon. Pat Toomey , Pennsylvania
Hon. Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire
Hom. Tom Cotton, Arkansas
Hon. Bob Casey, Pennsylvania

United States House of Representatives

Hon. Joseph Crowley, New York
Hon. Dwight Evans, Pennsylvania
Hon. Robert Aderholt, Alabama
Hon. George Holding, North Carolina

Private Citizens

David L. Cohen, Pennsylvania
Val Crofts, Wisconsin
Dan DiLella, Pennsylvania, Chairperson
Cathy Gillespie, Virginia
Noah Griffin, California
Amy Gutmann, PhD, Pennsylvania
Grant Hill, Florida
Andrew Hohns, PhD, Pennsylvania
Jim Koch, Massachusetts
Lucas Morel, PhD, Virginia
Wilfred M. McClay, PhD, Oklahoma
Rosie Rios, Maryland
James L. Swanson, Washington, DC
Richard Trumka, Maryland
Tom Walker, Alabama
Lynn Forney Young, Texas

Ex Officio

Acting Secretary of Interior David Bernhardt
Secretary of State Mike Pompeo
Attorney General Jeff Sessions
Acting Secretary of Defense Patrick M. Shanahan
Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos
Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden, PhD
Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution David Skorton, MD
Archivist of the United States David Ferriero
Presiding Officer of the Federal Council on the Arts and the Humanities

Commission Leadership

Daniel M DiLella, Chairperson, US Semiquincentennial Commission
Frank Giordano, Executive Director, US Semiquincentennial Commission

Commission Contacts

Lindsey Morrison, State and Local Relations Manager

American Battlefield Trust

Phone: 202-367-1861 x7230


Jim Campi, Chief Policy and Communications Officer

American Battlefield Trust

Phone: 202-367-1861 x7205


What's Next?

The nonprofit organization American Battlefield Trust has been designated as Administrative Secretariat of the Commission, whose meetings will be convened at Independence Hall in Philadelphia beginning in Fall 2018. The Commission was established Congress to prepare an overall program to observe and commemorate the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States and the historic events preceding that anniversary.